sakihiwe news

Grammy nonimated drum group releases eighth album

October 24, 2013

Bear Creek

Bear Creek released its eighth album on October 24. The disc, entitled Kaagige - “Forever”, is on the Canyon Records imprint and it includes 16 songs recorded live at the 2012 Rocky Boy Pow Wow in Montana.

Bear Creek CD

Kaagige - “Forever”
1. Smooth Moves
2. Tradition
3. Dancing Feathers
4. The Stomper
5. A Quick Journey
6. Kaagige - "Forever" (Side Step)
7. Cass' Song
8. BC Classic
9. Good Heart
10. Old Ways
11. Mishomis Dewaygan (Grandfather Drum)
12. Live It (Whistled)
13. Rain Boy (Crow Hop)
14. Woodland Step (Side Step)
15. Good Times
16. The PR

Bear Creek is an Ojibwe drum group based in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario. The singers include Michael Tegosh, Joe Syrette, Justin Perrault, Kevin Syrette, Nicholas Hewson, Andrew Nahwegahbow, Robert Essex, John Syrette, Mike Willis, Nitanis Kit Landry, Gabe Gaudet (first lead singer), Elijah Stevens, Dan Jackson, Mzzhickkekahbah Thomas, and Nate Roy. Dana Goulet, lead singer of Iron Horse, sang with the boys on a couple of the Kaagige - “Forever” songs.

Bear Creek's XI record was nominated in the Best Native American Music Album in the American Roots Genre category at the 53rd Annual Grammy Awards.

Please contact Kevin Syrette ( to purchase a copy of the CD. Syrette can process purchases through PayPal and email money transfers. All purchases will be delivered through the mail.

Booking info:
Kevin Syrette
T: (705) 257-5734

Listen to the album here.

Become a fan of Bear Creek on Facebook.