sakihiwe news

2015 JUNO Awards now accepting submissions for Aboriginal Album of the Year

October 16, 2014

The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) announced on October 1 that the JUNO Awards is now accepting submissions for Aboriginal Album of the Year (sponsored by Aboriginal Peoples Television Network).

The early bird submission deadline is 5:00 p.m. EST on October 24, 2014. The final submission deadline is 5:00 p.m. EST on November 13, 2014.

"The JUNO Awards provide Aboriginal music artists with a great opportunity to push our music forward into the marketplace," says Errol Ranville of the legendary C-Weed Band. "It's more important than ever before to get our music out there, so be sure to get your JUNO submission in today."

The category is open to albums released by Canadians citizens between September 1, 2013 and November 13, 2014.

Eligible music styles include all traditional Aboriginal music: Iroquois, Social Pow Wow Drum (I.e. Sioux, Assiniboine, Cree, Ojibway & Blackfoot, etc.); all Hand Drums (e.g. Inuit, Dene, Cree, Mic Mak, West Coast, etc.); Inuit Throat Singing; Traditional Flutes; Metis, Cree & Mic Mac Fiddling. In addition, fusions of all genres of contemporary music that incorporate the above and/or reflect the unique Aboriginal experience in Canada, by virtue of words or music.

The Aboriginal Category Advisory Committee listens to each submission to ensure that each album meets the criteria of the category. The committee is chaired by Alan Greyeyes (Manitoba Music/Aboriginal Music Week). Brian Wright-McLeod (author, The Encyclopedia of Native Music), Dan Smoke (host, Smoke Signals on CHRW Radio), Errol Ranville (recording artist), Sarah Yankoo (recording artist), Marc Nadjiwan (recording artist), Dave McLeod (NCI FM/Rhythm 104.7FM), Amanda Rheaume (recording artist), Leanne Goose (recording artist), and Melissa Spence (National Aboriginal Music Countdown/Rhythm 104.7FM) round out the Aboriginal Category Advisory Committee membership.

The 2015 festivities will be hosted in Hamilton, Ontario, with JUNO Week running from March 9 - 15. The 44th Annual JUNO Awards will be broadcast on CTV from Hamilton’s FirstOntario Centre, on Sunday March 15, 2015.

2015 JUNO Award submissions:

Submission can be made online at

Early Bird Submission Deadline Date is 5:00 p.m. EST on October 24, 2014.

The Final Submission Deadline is 5:00 p.m. EST on November 13, 2014.

Nominees will be announced on January 27, 2015.

Submission Fees and Deadlines:

CARAS offers an early bird submission fee to those who submit between October 1 and October 24, 2014. CARAS Academy Delegates can save up to 40% of the submission fees.. If you are eligible to submit, you are eligible foran account. Please visit for more information.

The submission fee can be paid online with a credit card or by sending a cheque.

October 1 – 24, 2014 (Early Bird Deadline)
$40 for CARAS Academy Delegates
$65 for non-Academy Delegates

October 25 – November 13, 2014 (Final Deadline)
$75 for CARAS Academy Delegates
$95 for non-Academy Delegates

Visit for more information.

How it Works:

330 Judges – These individuals are responsible for listening to each of the submissions and voting for the best product in the genre. The judges change each year and are spread out in different facets of the music industry and different regions throughout Canada.

50 Nominating & Voting Committee Members – The Nominating & Voting Committee is responsible for maintaining the integrity of the JUNO Awards. It is their responsibility to monitor any changes within the industry as it relates to the awards. The committee brings any necessary changes to the attention of the Board of Directors.

190+ Music Advisory Committee Members - Each category has an associated advisory committee that is responsible for ensuring that each of the submissions in their specific genre meets the required qualifications for the JUNO Awards.