sakihiwe news

Last day to vote for the APCMA

July 26, 2013

Derek Miller

Today is the last day to vote for your favourite artist at the Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards, so we thought that we should note the nominees that we have booked for our festival this year.

Derek Miller, Desiree Dorion, George Leach, Ghostkeeper, and Nick Sherman racked up a combined total of 12 nominations for their most recent releases.

Visit to cast you vote online today.

Aboriginal Music Week has Miller headlining a concert at the Pyramid Cabaret on August 18 (details), Dorion performing at a free outdoor stage on August 20 (details), Leach closing the night for Digging Roots at the Pyramid Cabaret on August 16 (details), and Ghostkeeper and Sherman are opening for Miller on the 18th (details).

Derek Miller
Best Blues CD

Desiree Dorion
Best Country CD

George Leach
Aboriginal Songwriter of the Year
Best Rock CD
Single of the Year
Aboriginal Male Entertainer of the Year

Best Group or Duo
Best Rock CD
Best Album Cover Design

Nick Sherman
Best New Artist Drag Your Words Through
Best Folk / Acoustic CD

Derek Miller poster

Please note that Aboriginal Music Week and the Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards are two separate events produced by two separate organizations. The events run concurrently, but they don't share resources and Aboriginal Music Week doesn't consult the award show submissions when programming it's festival each year.