sakihiwe news

Tia Wood, photo by Gio Solis

sākihiwē festival 2021 online

By Alan Greyeyes | November 22, 2021

After a full summer of pop-up concerts and collaborations with filmmakers across the country, the sākihiwē festival is excited to present an incredible program of video performance alongside community partners Ka Ni Kanichihk, Central Neighbourhoods Winnipeg, the Ma Mawi Wi Chi Itata Centre, and the Spence Neighbourhood Association on November 25, 26, 27, and 28.

Rising star Tia Wood, singer/songwriter Jayli Wolf, Igloolik's Angela Amarualik, pop luminary Prado, hard rock duo Miesha & The Spanks, changemaker Angel Baribeau, indie rockers The Crashfields, folk artist Aysanabee, and nêhiyaw singer Wyatt C. Louis will join the talented Leonard Sumner, Ila Barker, Victoria Turko, Burnstick, Nikki Komaksiutiksak, Boogey The Beat, Geronimo Inutiq, Ernest Monias, and Caid Jones in the four days of video premieres.

Each video will premiere as an individual performance and remain on YouTube and Facebook for three months.

sākihiwē festival 2021 online
November 25-28
YouTube / Facebook video premieres

Supporting sponsors: Manitoba Music, West End Cultural Centre, Assiniboine Credit Union

The release schedule (all times in CST):

Ka Ni Kanichihk Block Party
ft. Tia Wood, Jayli Wolf, Angela Amarualik, Boogey The Beat
Partner: Ka Ni Kanichihk
Thursday, November 25, 2021
5:00 pm: Tia Wood (YouTubeFacebook)
5:30 pm: Jayli Wolf (YouTubeFacebook)
6:00 pm: Angela Amarualik (YouTubeFacebook)
6:30 pm: Boogey The Beat (YouTubeFacebook)

Central Park Block Party
ft. Prado, Boogey The Beat, Wyatt C. Louis, Ila Barker, Victoria Turko
Partner: Central Neighbourhoods Winnipeg
Friday, November 26, 2021
5:00 pm: Prado (YouTubeFacebook)
5:30 pm: Ila Barker (YouTubeFacebook)
6:00 pm: Wyatt C. Louis (YouTubeFacebook)
6:30 pm: Aysanabee (YouTubeFacebook)
7:00 pm: Victoria Turko (YouTubeFacebook)

Turtle Island Block Party
ft. Angel Baribeau, Leonard Sumner, The Crashfields, Geronimo Inutiq, Ernest Monias
Partner: Ma Mawi Wi Chi Itata Centre
Saturday, November 27, 2021
5:00 pm: Angel Baribeau (YouTubeFacebook)
5:30 pm: Leonard Sumner (YouTubeFacebook)
6:00 pm: The Crashfields (YouTubeFacebook)
6:30 pm Geronimo Inutiq (YouTubeFacebook)
7:00 pm: Ernest Monias (YouTubeFacebook)

Spence Neighbourhood Block Party
ft. Miesha & The Spanks, Burnstick, Nikki Komaksiutiksak, Caid Jones
Partner: Spence Neighbourhood Association, West End Cultural Centre
Sunday, November 28, 2021
5:00 pm: Caid Jones (YouTubeFacebook)
5:30 pm: Burnstick (YouTubeFacebook)
6:00 pm: Nikki Komaksiutiksak (YouTubeFacebook)
6:30 pm: Miesha & The Spanks (YouTubeFacebook)

About the sākihiwē festival

The sākihiwē festival was launched in 2009 as Aboriginal Music Week to develop Indigenous youth as an audience for live music. The festival presents between 20 and 30 First Nation, Metis, Inuit, Native American, and Indigenous music acts each year. It is held in Treaty One Territory and is produced by Aboriginal Music Manitoba (AMM).

AMM received the name "sākihiwē" from Sundance Chief David Blacksmith during a ceremony on February 21, 2018. It means "to love" in Cree and the organization has been instructed to use Standard Roman Orthography (SRO) to write the name. SRO has no capital letters.

AMM would like to acknowledge the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage, the Canada Council for the Arts, the Manitoba Arts Council, and the Winnipeg Arts Council for their financial support of the 2021 edition of the sākihiwē festival.

AMM would like to acknowledge Manitoba Music, MB Live, the West End Cultural Centre, and Assiniboine Credit Union for their support of the 2021 edition of the sākihiwē festival.

The sākihiwē festival is made possible by partnerships with Ka Ni Kanichihk, Central Neighbourhoods, the Ma Mawi Wi Chi Itata Centre, and the Spence Neighbourhood Association.

About Aboriginal Music Manitoba

AMM is a non-profit organization that presents, promotes and nurtures Indigenous music and culture in order to build audiences at the community level and beyond. We do this by producing an annual music festival; producing capacity development projects; shining a spotlight on the accomplishments of Indigenous music makers and industry professionals; and, by building bridges between the Indigenous music community and our counterparts around the world.

AMM is governed by a nine-person volunteer board, which includes chairperson Brett Huson, vice-chairperson Sandra Seidle, secretary Kimberly Cleave, and directors Rhonda Head, Ivana Yellowback, Jennifer Duka, Brendan Dong, and Rheanna Merasty.